Nan

Nan.   4 Years ago today you went into the long rest.  A rest well deserved.  You were strong, you lived a long life and a happy life.

Nan.  You were (and still are!) the family Matriarch in the truest sense.  Things have not been the same since you left, you held us together in ways we couldn’t see then and I am sorry for all that has befallen us without you.

Nan.  You were the only Grandparent I had for most of my life; you were Mercy and Severity, Kindness and Cruelty.  You gave me my Mother; you gave us our blood…our fiery Cockney Blood, our love of Pie and Mash, Jellied eels, our short fuses, our curly hair and dark skin.

Nan.  You used to sing me to sleep….sometimes…you still do….

When your old wedding ring was new
And each dream that I dreamed came true
I remember with pride how we stood side by side
What a beautiful picture you made as my bride

Even though silver crowns your hair
I can still see the gold ringlets there
Love’s old flame is the same as the day I changed your name
When your old wedding ring was new

When your old wedding ring was new
And each dream that I dreamed came true

Miss you Nan!

This entry was posted in Ancestors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

