A Well Trodden Path

Today has been one of those days…one of those days where contact is well on form and inspiration seems to come upon you like a mighty tsunami.  With an almighty wallop I discovered something.

To most this would seem insignificant and perhaps not even worth giving the time, thought or ink to…if I were one of those people who shared every spiritual, magical or mystical experience with the www then maybe things would be different, however I post this none the less in the vain hope that someone might find it of interest.

My ‘stomping’ ground is an area around (and of course including) the Coldrum Stone circle which is about a 10 minute drive from my home.  Once the car is parked, and once making my way on foot towards the monument I come upon a cross roads, a place I have had many an experience, most of them too frightful and incredibly chthonic and personal to mention.  This is a place I have come to call my ‘Dread Crossed Roads’ for the magical, mystical and personal significance of this spot represents something far more than just a place where 3 roads meet.

Today however I was ‘presented’ with a piece of information which made me tingle…my Dread Crossed roads (or rather one of them) is actually part of the old Pilgrims way, well know for being the road most commonly travelled by folks of Chaucer’s Era travelling to the shrine of Thomas Becket in Canterbury.  “No F*cking wonder” I thought to myself…no wonder I feel drawn to the place and no wonder the experiences I have had here have been so intense (and thank God I’ve not been pulled through the hedge for good!).

But wait there’s more! The Pilgrims Way is far older than people think and is probably the remainder of an existing causeway dated back to 450 BCE (some say older still) Imagine the people, all those foot prints, memories…

It turns out that Pilgrims way actually runs close, if not directly alongside, all the major Medway Megaliths (see my Fleeting Visit Series of Blogs for info on these).  So not only The Coldrum stones, but the White Horse stone and Kits Coty to name a couple, as well as medieval churches like Dode and St Benedict’s at Paddlesworth

 

This entry was posted in Ancestors, Kent, Local History, Pilgrims Way, Sacred Sites, Traditional Witchcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Well Trodden Path

  1. Pingback: Downstrodden – Day (s) of the Dead « downstrodden

Leave a Reply

