Book Reviews

A Grimoire for Modern Cunningfolk by Peter Paddon

Anyone who enjoys Peter Paddon’s Podcasts will enjoy this book, myself included.  A lot of the chapters in this book are lifted straight from the Podcast which is, in my opinion, a great idea.  Having been a keen listener for sometime I often find myself scrawling notes as I listen.  This book enables me to read and digest the wealth of information Peter has to share with his Audience.

One of the things I love about Peter’s style is he has a no bullshit common sense approach, I can’t abide secrecy for no good reason or writing styles created to make the author feel more important or intelligent than they actually are… you find this a lot in metaphysical books but definitely not in this book by Peter. 

Apart from a few typos, there are a couple of areas in the book I disagree on, which is to be expected however for the most part I whizzed through this book in just a couple of sittings, soaking up every line.  The information is presented in a neat and easy to follow format.  This is an ideal book for beginners, and whilst Peter refers a lot to his own Coven ‘Briar Rose’ I didn’t find it off-putting or not applicable to me, a lowly hermit, in the slightest, in fact it was refreshing to hear about practises from a lesser known covine which works extensively with Welsh Mythos…something up until now I had not encountered.

I highly recommend the chapter on the wheel of the year and the Sacred King Cycle, as something which really floats my boat I found myself reading and re reading these particular paragraphs!   Peter has a wealth of experience and his down to earth character makes this book a must have in any Traditional Crafter’s Library!

The link to Peter Paddon’s Crooked Path Podcast can be found to your right.  His ‘Grimoire for Modern Cunningfolk’ is available on Amazon (opens Amazon in New Window)

This entry was posted in Traditional Witchcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

