25 Trees in 2 Years

Despite the dubious and highly debated origins of the Ogham, the language of the trees is something I have studied and worked with for many years.  I also work with the runes and playing cards but that’s neither here nor there…despite considering the arguments from both sides of the fence the Ogham works for me and that’s all I need to know!  And besides Robert Graves discusses the Ogham and the ‘Dolmen Arch’ extensively in ‘The White Goddess’ and if Mr Graves was good enough for Robert Cochrane, Robert Graves is good enough for me!  2 Years ago I decided to create a set of Ogham staves, each stave made from a branch from the corresponding tree. 

Birch, Rowan, Ash, Alder, Willow, Hawthorn, Oak, Holly, Hazel, Apple, Ivy, Blackberry, Reed, Blackthorn, Elder, Pine, Gorse, Heather, Poplar and Yew…each collected in sequence (so that’s almost one a month on average).  Each stave was cut to a hand’s length (I don’t know why, that just felt comfortable and meant I had a handy (excuse the pun) measuring tool always on me.  Despite the abundance of trees here in the south-east of England, I was surprised just how much searching was involved for some of them.  Now, not only do I have a wonderful new divination tool, I have spent 2 years getting to know the spirit of each tree which will in turn help me when using them.  Each twig has been engraved with the corresponding Ogham stave which was then burnt on using a soldering iron.

My Full Set

All they need now is proper consecration and their first use!  I can’t wait…needless to say I am thrilled with the set, now finally completed and it has really driven home what They always say…all good things come to those who wait!

This entry was posted in Crafts, Divination, Traditional Witchcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 25 Trees in 2 Years

  1. Juniper Jeni says:

    Fantastic! I still have remnants of my attempts to do the same thing in my “collection” of odd bits that I use for divination.

    I found Ivy to be the hardest to find a sturdy enough piece that didn’t harm the plant if cut or removed.

    • downstrodden says:

      A little hint… go for Ivy root, its straighter and surprisingly sturdy! As long as you ask permission from whatever your cutting and give something back in return there is no need to worry about harm. Just take only as much as you need. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Out of the Darkness… « downstrodden

Leave a Reply

